
10/25/11 Club Appreciation Teams – Count!  

Bd 18  [rotated] 
W Deals 

N-S Vul 

 

S KQJ94 

e K8432 

d — 

C 984 

 

  S A1052 

e AQJ1065 

d 3 

C Q3 

 

West North East South 

Pass Pass 1e Double 

Pass 2S Pass 3d 

Pass 3S Pass 5d 

Pass Pass Pass  

West leads the e9.  Declarer plays small in dummy and ruffs in hand.  She then produces the S7, 

West follows with the S8, and dummy the SJ.  You are West – what do you do? 

 If you duck the SA, you will lose it when declarer has a singleton.   

 

 If you win SA, and declarer has another spade, she will use it to get to dummy and 

discard something on the remaining spade honor. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



Bd 18  [rotated] 
W Deals 

N-S Vul 

 

S KQJ94 

e K8432 

d — 

C 984 

 

S 83 

e 97 

d Q842 

C J10652 

 S A1052 

e AQJ1065 

d 3 

C Q3 
 S 76 

e— 

d AKJ109765 

C AK7 

 

Clearly you should duck!  No, not just because you can see now that declarer has two spades, but 

because partner has given you a count signal.   

Take a look at the situation.  You and dummy have nine spades between you, declarer has led the 

tenth, a sneaky S7, and partner played S8.  The only missing cards in the suit are 63, and both 

are lower than the 8.  Partner must have a lower card in the suit, unless she has a singleton.  

Since declarer never raised spades, she is unlikely to have three, so the S8 must be the start of a 

high-low, showing an even number of cards.  Now that you know how the cards lie, can you tell 

what to do? 

If you duck the first spade lead and win the second, declarer can never get to dummy to enjoy a 

second spade winner, and must eventually lose a club as well as a trump – one down.  See that 

nothing can happen to your A, once you know declarer has another spade. 

Note that if West thinks this hand is too boring to be bothered with and plays the 3 on the first 

lead, or if you don’t watch the play to this trick, you will be reduced to a guess.   

In that case, you should probably do what the actual East did, take the A.  The contract can still be 

defeated if either defender leads a spade while West has the fourth trump, but this also did not happen at the 

table.  That play is also more difficult to find – especially since both players should assume East took the 

correct spade in the first place (meaning declarer has no more).  Leading a spade once declarer is out would 

give declarer two discards. 

Counting, signals, and paying attention are the best way to improve your game.  This is 

crucial, and it’s not easy.  Once a trick has been turned over, it’s too late to wake up and ask to 

see that signal you missed.  Count and pay attention – easier said than done. 

A summary of standard defensive signals is on the next page. 

- Pete Matthews  

(Note that I tweaked the spade spots in the East and South hands to make a better example.) 



Standard American Defensive Signals 

Small cards are used by defenders to communicate important information to each other – in a 

legal way.  (It’s not fair to agree to wink when you like partner’s lead.)  

 

The usual signal is to choose either a high worthless card (starting a high-low) or a low worthless 

card (starting a low-high), when first following suit or discarding, to convey a message.  Usually 

the cards from 2 to 9 are used for this purpose, but sometimes higher cards are employed.   

 

Attitude:  Follow suit or discard high-low to say you like the suit that you play.  Play low-high 

to say you don’t. 

 

Count:  Play high-low to say you have an even number of cards in the suit.  Play low-high to 

show an odd number of cards. 

 

Suit Preference:  Play a high card to ask for the lead or indicate strength in a high suit.  Play a 

low card for a low suit.  Play a middle card for something else:  continuation of the current suit, a 

trump, no preference, etc.  Usually there are only two likely suits to prefer. 

 

Standard Rules:  When we lead, the primary signal is attitude.  When they lead, the primary 

signal is count.  Suit preference applies only in specialized situations, such as when giving 

partner a ruff, looking for a ruff yourself, or when declarer or dummy will surely ruff the next 

round of the current suit.  When your attitude is known – either because of a prior signal or 

because you cannot beat the winning card played by dummy – give count.  However, don’t 

signal when only declarer would benefit, or if it might cost you a trick! 

 

Example 1:   Partner opens in hearts, and South declares at a contract of 5d.  Dummy has 

SKQJ94 eK8432 d— C984, and you hold S83 e97 dQ842 CJ10652.  Declarer trumps your 

lead of the e9 and leads a spade.  You must play the S8, a count signal when they lead, showing 

an even number of cards. 

 

Example 2:  The opponents play in 3NT, partner leads eK, and you hold eA94.  Play the e9, an 

attitude signal.  You want partner to lead a small heart to your ace, so you can lead the 4 back for 

her to run the suit.  However, had you instead held e974, you would play the e4, asking partner 

to lead something else.  Signals are not commands – if partner’s hearts are headed by eKQJ, as 

opposed to eKQT, she will likely continue hearts. 

 

Example 3:  The opponents have the auction to themselves:  1S – 2d; 3d – 4S.  You are on lead, 

holding:  S83 e97654 dA842 CA63.  If you consider that auction, you should see a way to take 

the first four tricks and set the contract!  How many diamonds does partner have?  Well, you 

have four, dummy bid the suit (at least four), and declarer should have four for an immediate 

raise.  Can you count to 13?  Partner has a singleton or void in diamonds.  Lead the dA, and 

whatever anybody does, lead the d2 next, a suit preference signal for the lower side suit, clubs.  

Partner ruffs this trick and obediently returns a club.  You win and give her a second ruff. 


